Skip to product information
1 of 4

Traffic 3-LP Bundle – Mr. Fantasy, Traffic & John Barleycorn Must Die

Write a review
| Ask a question

Regular price £59.99
Regular price £83.97 Sale price £59.99
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout. Free UK shipping on orders over £40.

Save over 25% when you buy these celebrated albums together with this vinyl bundle offer!*

Traffic were formed in Birmingham in April 1967 by Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi, Chris Wood and Dave Mason. The band had early success in the UK with their debut album Mr. Fantasy and non-album singles Paper Sun, Hole in My Shoe, and Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush.

Their self-titled 1968 album was their most successful in Britain and featured one of their most popular songs, the widely covered Feelin’ Alright?. Dave Mason left the band shortly after the album’s release, as did Steve Winwood the following year when he joined the supergroup Blind Faith, and Traffic effectively disbanded.

By 1970, Blind Faith had also broken up and Winwood reunited with Chris Wood and Jim Capaldi in the process of recording a solo album, which led to Traffic reforming and the resulting album, John Barleycorn Must Die, serving as the band’s comeback record. It became the band’s biggest success in the United States to that point, reaching No. 5.

Here’s those three iconic albums are presented as a vinyl bundle offer – Mr. Fantasy (1967), Traffic (1968), John Barleycorn Must Die (1970). Each album has been pressed on 180g heavyweight vinyl and comes with a digital download voucher.

Mr. Fantasy (2021 Reissue on 180g Vinyl with Digital Download)

Released on 8 December 1967, Mr. Fantasy is the debut album by Traffic. The recording included group members Jim Capaldi, Steve Winwood, Chris Wood, and Dave Mason; however, Mason left the band shortly after the album was released. The album reached the No. 16 position in the UK albums chart, and No. 88 on the Billboard 200 chart in the United States.

Rolling Stone called the album ‘one of the best from any contemporary group’. The reviewer felt that Steve Winwood’s voice had ‘matured, acquired new depth and new reaches, a more individual feeling and a greater range in both style and tones’, and considered that ‘the strongest points of this album are where the elements of Traffic’s “comprehensible far-out” and Winwood’s great R&B style are combined’.

Mr. Fantasy was voted No. 517 in Colin Larkin’s All Time Top 1000 Albums 3rd Edition (2000).

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Heaven Is in Your Mind
  2. Berkshire Poppies
  3. House for Everyone
  4. No Face, No Name and No Number
  5. Dear Mr. Fantasy

Side Two

  1. Dealer
  2. Utterly Simple
  3. Coloured Rain
  4. Hope I Never Find Me There
  5. Giving to You


Traffic (2021 Reissue on 180g Vinyl with Digital Download)

The second offering from Traffic, which arrived in October 1968 was their self-titled album, achieving a strong balance between Dave Mason’s simple and straightforward folk-rock songs and Steve Winwood’s complex and often haunting rock jams. The album peaked at No. 9 in the UK albums chart and at No. 17 on the Billboard 200. It was the last album recorded by the group before their initial breakup.

Traffic was voted No. 312 in Colin Larkin’s All Time Top 1000 Albums 3rd Edition (2000).

Track Listing

Side One

  1. You Can All Join In
  2. Pearly Queen
  3. Don't Be Sad
  4. Who Know's What Tomorrow May Bring
  5. Feelin' Alright?

Side Two

  1. Vagabond Virgin
  2. Forty Thousand Headmen
  3. Cryin' to Be Heard
  4. No Time to Live
  5. Means to an End


John Barleycorn Must Die (2021 Reissue on 180g Vinyl with Digital Download)

Released on 1 July 1970, John Barleycorn Must Die is the fourth studio album by Traffic. It marked the band’s comeback after a brief disbandment, and peaked at No. 5 on the Billboard 200, making it their highest-charting album in the US, and has been certified a gold record by the RIAA. The album was marginally less successful in the UK, reaching No. 11 on the UK Albums Chart.

The album would take the band’s jazz/rock leanings beyond mere jamming and give Winwood excuse to exercise his expressive voice as punctuation to the extended instrumental sections.

John Barleycorn Must Die was voted No. 369 in Colin Larkin’s All Time Top 1000 Albums 3rd Edition (2000).

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Glad
  2. Freedom Rider
  3. Empty Pages

Side Two

  1. Stranger to Himself
  2. John Barleycorn (Must Die)
  3. Every Mother’s Son

* Please note:

– Discount does not apply if titles are bought individually.

– This time limited offer is subject to availability and may be withdrawn at any time.

– This special bundle offer is not available retrospectively.