Skip to product information
1 of 2

Pretenders – Original Album Series (Deluxe 5-CD Box Set)

Write a review
| Ask a question

Regular price £15.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £15.99 GBP
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

This incredible value CD box set comprises five original albums housed in individual cardboard sleeves. This set includes the following five albums: Pretenders, Pretenders II, Learning to Crawl, Get Close and Last of the Independents.

Over the years, Pretenders became a vehicle for guitarist/vocalist Chrissie Hynde's songwriting, yet they were a full-fledged band when they formed in the late '70s. With their initial records, the group crossed the bridge between punk/new wave and Top 40 pop more than any other band, recording a series of hard, spiky singles that were also melodic and immediately accessible. Hynde was an invigorating singer who bent the traditional male roles of rock & roll to her own liking, while guitarist James Honeyman-Scott created a sonic palette filled with suspended chords, effects pedals, and syncopated rhythms that proved remarkably influential over the next two decades. After Honeyman-Scott's death, Pretenders became a straightforward rock band, yet Hynde's semi-autobiographical songwriting and bracing determination meant that the group never became just another rock band, even when their music became smoother and pop-oriented.


Track Listing

Disc 1 – Pretenders

  1. Precious
  2. The Phone Call
  3. Up the Neck
  4. Tattooed Love Boys
  5. Space Invader
  6. The Wait
  7. Stop Your Sobbing
  8. Kid
  9. Private Life
  10. Brass in Pocket
  11. Lovers of Today
  12. Mystery Achievement

Disc 2 – Pretenders II

  1. The Adultress
  2. Bad Boys Get Spanked
  3. Message of Love
  4. I Go to Sleep
  5. Birds of Paradise
  6. Talk of the Town
  7. Pack It Up
  8. Waste Not Want Not
  9. Day After Day
  10. Jealous Dogs
  11. The English Roses
  12. Louie Louie

Disc 3 – Learning to Crawl

  1. Middle of the Road
  2. Back On the Chain Gang
  3. Time the Avenger
  4. Watching the Clothes
  5. Show Me
  6. Thumbelina
  7. My City Was Gone
  8. Thin Line Between Love and Hate
  9. I Hurt You
  10. 2000 Miles

Disc 4 – Get Close

  1. My Baby
  2. When I Change My Life
  3. Light of the Moon
  4. Dance!
  5. Tradition of Love
  6. Don't Get Me Wrong
  7. I Remember You
  8. How Much Did You Get for Your Soul?
  9. Chill Factor
  10. Hymn to Her
  11. Room Full of Mirrors

Disc 5 – Last of the Independents

  1. Hollywood Perfume
  2. Night in My Veins
  3. Money Talk
  4. 977
  5. Revolution
  6. All My Dreams
  7. I'll Stand By You
  8. I'm a Mother
  9. Tequila
  10. Every Mother's Son
  11. Rebel Rock Me
  12. Love Colours
  13. Forever Young


Label: Rhino Records, Sire
Series: Original Album Series
Format: CD x 5, Album, Reissue Box Set, Compilation
Country: UK & Europe
Released: 2009