Skip to product information
1 of 2

Pink Floyd – The Final Cut (Remastered by James Guthrie on 180g Vinyl)

1 Reviews
| Ask a question

Regular price £27.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £27.99 GBP
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Final Cut is the twelfth studio album by Pink Floyd, released on 21 March 1983 in the United Kingdom and on 2 April in the United States. It comprises unused material from the previous Pink Floyd album, The Wall (1979), alongside new material recorded throughout 1982.

The Final Cut was the last Pink Floyd album to feature founding member Roger Waters, who departed from the band in 1985. It is also the only Pink Floyd album not to feature founding member and keyboardist Richard Wright, who left the band after the Wall sessions. The recording was plagued by conflict; guitarist David Gilmour felt many of the tracks were not worthy of inclusion, but Waters accused him of failing to contribute material himself. Drummer Nick Mason’s contributions were mostly limited to sound effects.

Waters planned the album as a soundtrack for the 1982 film adaptation of The Wall. With the onset of the Falklands War, he rewrote it as a concept album exploring what he considered the betrayal of his father, who died serving in the Second World War. Waters provided lead vocals for all but one track, and he is credited for all songwriting. The album was accompanied by a short film released in the same year.

The Final Cut received mixed reviews, though retrospective reception has been more favourable. Though it reached No. 1 in the UK and No. 6 in the US, it was the lowest-selling Pink Floyd studio album worldwide since Meddle (1971).


Track Listing

Side One

  1. The Post War Dream
  2. The Possible Pasts
  3. One of the Few
  4. When the Tigers Broke Free
  5. The Hero's Return
  6. The Gunner's Dream
  7. Paranoid Eyes

Side Two

  1. Get Your Filthy Hands Off My Desert
  2. The Fletcher Memorial Home
  3. Southampton Dock
  4. The Final Cut
  5. Not Now John
  6. Two Suns in the Sunset