Skip to product information
1 of 3

Pink Floyd ‘The Syd Barrett Years’ 2-LP Bundle – The Piper at the Gates of Dawn & A Saucerful of Secrets

2 Reviews
| Ask a question

Regular price £44.99
Regular price £55.98 Sale price £44.99
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout. Free UK shipping on orders over £40.

Save 20% when you buy these iconic albums together with this vinyl bundle offer!*

Here, Pink Floyd’s first two studio albums are presented as a vinyl bundle offer – The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (1967) and A Saucerful of Secrets (1968). Both albums have remastered from the original analogue tapes by James Guthrie, Pink Floyd’s sound engineer since 1978, and pressed on heavyweight 180g vinyl.

Pink Floyd were founded in 1964 by Syd Barrett (guitar, lead vocals), Nick Mason (drums), Roger Waters (bass guitar, vocals), Richard Wright (keyboards, vocals) and Bob Klose (guitars); Klose quit in 1965. Gaining an early following as one of the first British psychedelic groups, they were distinguished for their extended compositions, sonic experimentation, philosophical lyrics and elaborate live shows. 

Under Syd Barrett’s leadership, Pink Floyd released two charting singles and the successful debut album The Piper at the Gates of Dawn. During recording of the band’s second album A Saucerful of Secrets, the mental health of Barrett declined, so David Gilmour was recruited to complement him; Barrett left the band before the album’s completion.


The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (Remastered by James Guthrie on 180g Vinyl)

The Piper at the Gates of Dawn is the debut album by Pink Floyd, and the only album made under founding member Syd Barrett’s leadership. It was released on 5 August 1967. The studio album borrows its name from the title of chapter seven of Kenneth Grahame’s 1908 novel The Wind in the Willows, which refers to the nature god Pan, who plays his pan pipes at dawn. The album was recorded at EMI Studios in London’s Abbey Road from February to May 1967. The band consisted of Barrett (lead vocals, lead guitar), Nick Mason (drums), Roger Waters (bass, vocals), and Richard Wright (keyboards, vocals). Barrett was the band’s primary songwriter, though two tracks on the album are credited to the band collectively and one track was written by Waters. The album was produced by Norman Smith, who would go on to produce two more albums for Pink Floyd.

Syd Barrett proved himself a true genius, blending elements of pop and psychedelia on early singles such as See Emily Play with mysterious, almost light-hearted lyrics. The Piper at the Gates of Dawn still stands as one of the best psychedelic rock albums ever, driven by Barrett's oddball narratives and the band's skill with both long jams and perfect pop nuggets.

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Astronomy Dominé
  2. Lucifer Sam
  3. Matilda Mother
  4. Flaming
  5. Pow R. Toc H.
  6. Take Up Thy Stethoscope and Walk

Side Two

  1. Interstellar Overdrive
  2. The Gnome
  3. Chapter 24
  4. The Scarecrow
  5. Bike


A Saucerful of Secrets (Remastered by James Guthrie on 180g Vinyl)

A Saucerful of Secrets is the second studio album by Pink Floyd, released on 29 June 1968 in the United Kingdom and on 27 July 1968 in the United States. During recording, the mental health of singer and guitarist Syd Barrett declined, so David Gilmour was recruited to complement him; Barrett left the band before the album’s completion.

Whereas Barrett had led songwriting for Pink Floyd’s debut album, The Piper at the Gates of Dawn, on A Saucerful of Secrets each member contributed songwriting and lead vocals. Gilmour appeared on all but two songs, while Barrett contributed to three. Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun is the only song on which all five members appeared.

A Saucerful of Secrets reached No. 9 in the UK charts, but did not chart in the US until April 2019, peaking at number 158.

In 2014, drummer Nick Mason named A Saucerful of Secrets his favourite Pink Floyd album: ‘I think there are ideas contained there that we have continued to use all the way through our career. I think [it] was a quite good way of marking Syd’s departure and Dave’s arrival. It’s rather nice to have it on one record, where you get both things. It’s a cross-fade rather than a cut.’

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Let There Be More Light
  2. Remember a Day
  3. Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun
  4. Corporal Clegg

Side Two

  1. A Saucerful of Secrets
  2. See Saw
  3. Jugband Blues

* Please note:

– Discount does not apply if titles are bought individually.

– This time limited offer is subject to availability and may be withdrawn at any time.

– This special bundle offer is not available retrospectively.