Skip to product information
1 of 2

Pearl Jam – Ten (2017 Vinyl Reissue)

Write a review
| Ask a question

Regular price £24.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £24.99 GBP
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Ten is the debut studio album by Pearl Jam, originally released on 27 August 1991.

Following the dissolution of their previous band Mother Love Bone in 1990, bassist Jeff Ament and guitarist Stone Gossard began rehearsing with guitarist Mike McCready. The group recorded a five-song instrumental demo tape with Matt Cameron on drums. Copies of the demo were eventually given to drummer Dave Krusen and vocalist Eddie Vedder, both of whom were invited to audition for the band in Seattle. Many of the songs on Ten were instrumental jams or reworked Mother Love Bone songs for which Vedder composed new melodies and lyrics.

Despite its reputation as a quintessential grunge record, Ten is often noted for displaying a stronger classic rock influence than other contemporary grunge releases. In a review for AllMusic, Steve Huey asserts that the album’s 'intricately arranged guitar textures and expansive harmonic vocabulary... especially recalled Jimi Hendrix and Led Zeppelin' and characterises the album as having an 'anthemic' and 'warm, rich sound'. Huey also praises Vedder for the 'highly distinctive timbre' of his vocals and for the 'passionate commitment of his delivery'.

Ten was not an immediate success, but by late 1992 it had reached No. 2 on the Billboard 200. The album produced three hit singles: Alive, Even Flow and Jeremy. Jeremy became one of Pearl Jam’s best-known songs, and received nominations for Best Rock Song and Best Hard Rock Performance at the 35th Grammy Awards.

Beyond its role in consolidating the mainstream success of grunge rock in the early 1990s, Ten is generally considered to have been instrumental in the rise and dominance of alternative rock throughout the decade. The album has since been ranked by several publications as one of the greatest albums of all time.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. Once
  2. Even Flow
  3. Alive
  4. Why Go
  5. Black
  6. Jeremy

Side Two

  1. Oceans
  2. Porch
  3. Garden
  4. Deep
  5. Release
  6. Master/Slave


Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

Label: Sony Music CMG

Catalogue No: 88985376871

Barcode: 0889853768714

Release Date: 10 Nov 2017