Skip to product information
1 of 2

Nirvana – MTV Unplugged In New York (12-Inch Vinyl Album)

Write a review
| Ask a question

Regular price £29.99
Regular price Sale price £29.99
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout. Free UK shipping on orders over £40.

Recorded in November 1993, Nirvana's MTV Unplugged is a watershed document that presents a band at the peak of its powers. Unlike any other unplugged affair, the diverse album is not a simple stripped-down regurgitation of greatest hits or a cash-it-in set of nostalgic favourites. Rather, the live effort is among the most emotionally naked spectacles ever released an album so starkly intense and profoundly personal, it's impossible not to get chills down the spine. The set list is as surprising as the stylistic makeover. Save for renditions of All Apologies and Come As You Are, the adventurous material includes brooding covers of the Meat Puppets' Lake of Fire, Plateau, and Oh Me as well as harrowing versions of David Bowie's The Man Who Sold the World, and the Vaselines' Jesus Don't Want Me for a Sunbeam.

Track Listing

Side One

  1. About a Girl
  2. Come As You Are
  3. Jesus Doesn't Want Me for a Sunbeam
  4. The Man Who Sold the World
  5. Pennyroyal Tea
  6. Dumb
  7. Polly

Side Two

  1. On a Plain
  2. Something in the Way
  3. Plateau
  4. Oh Me
  5. Lake of Fire
  6. All Apologies
  7. Where Did You Sleep Last Night


Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

Label: Geffen Records

Catalogue No: GEF24727

Barcode: 0720642472712

Release Date: 31 Oct 1994