Skip to product information
1 of 2

Iron Maiden – Seventh Son of a Seventh Son (2014 Reissue on 180g Vinyl)

1 Review
| Ask a question

Regular price £29.99
Regular price Sale price £29.99
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout. Free UK shipping on orders over £40.

Iron Maiden’s seventh studio album Seventh Son of a Seventh Son was released on 11 April 1988. A concept album inspired by the novel Seventh Son by Orson Scott Card, the record incorporates elements of progressive rock, seen in the length and complex structure of the title track. It was also the first Iron Maiden album to feature keyboards, creating synth effects which the band introduced on their previous album, Somewhere in Time.

After his contributions were rejected for Somewhere in Time, Seventh Son of a Seventh Son features several songs co-written by lead vocalist Bruce Dickinson, who states that his enthusiasm for the band was renewed during the album’s production stages. It was Iron Maiden’s last studio record to feature the Piece of Mind-era lineup until 2000’s Brave New World, with guitarist Adrian Smith leaving the band in January 1990 after he did not approve of the direction the band were aiming for on their next album No Prayer for the Dying.

According to Steve Harris the story goes, ‘It was our seventh studio album and I didn’t have a title for it or any ideas at all. Then I read the story of the seventh son, this mystical figure that was supposed to have all these paranormal gifts, like second sight and what have you, and it was more, at first, that it was just a good title for the seventh album, you know? But then I rang Bruce and started talking about it and the idea just grew.’

Seventh Son of a Seventh Son debuted at No. 1 on the UK Albums Chart. The lead single Can I Play with Madness was also a commercial success, peaking at No. 3 in the UK Singles Chart.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. Moonchild
  2. Infinite Dreams
  3. Can I Play With Madness
  4. The Evil That Men Do

Side Two

  1. Seventh Son of a Seventh Son
  2. The Prophecy
  3. The Clairvoyant
  4. Only the Good Die Young


Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

Label: Rhino

Barcode: 0825646248490

Release Date: 24 Nov 2014