Skip to product information
1 of 2

Genesis – The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway (2018 Reissue Double-LP on 180g Vinyl)

Write a review
| Ask a question

Regular price £37.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £37.99 GBP
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout. Free UK shipping on orders over £40.

Released on 18 November 1974, The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway is the sixth studio album by Genesis. It was the last Genesis album to feature original frontman Peter Gabriel. It peaked at No. 10 on the UK Albums Chart and No. 41 on the Billboard 200 in the US.

While the band worked on new material at Hedley Grange for three months, they decided to produce a concept album with a story devised by Gabriel about Rael, a Puerto Rican youth from New York City who is suddenly taken on a journey of self-discovery and encounters bizarre incidents and characters along the way. The album was marked by increased tensions within the band as Gabriel, who insisted on writing all of the lyrics, temporarily left to work with filmmaker William Friedkin and needed time to be with his family. Most of the songs were developed by the rest of the band through jam sessions and were put down at Glaspant Manor in Wales using a mobile studio.

The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway received a mixed critical reaction at first, but it gained acclaim in subsequent years and has a cult following. The songs Counting Out Time and The Carpet Crawlers were released as singles in the UK in 1974 and 1975, respectively; both failed to chart. A single of The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway was released in the US. Genesis promoted the album with their 1974–75 tour across North America and Europe, playing the album in its entirety. The album reached Gold certification in the UK and the US.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway
  2. Fly on a Windshield
  3. Broadway Melody of 1974
  4. Cuckoo Cocoon
  5. In the Cage
  6. The Grand Parade of Lifeless Packaging

Side Two

  1. Back in N.Y.C.
  2. Hairless Heart
  3. Counting Out Time
  4. Carpet Crawlers
  5. The Chamber of 32 Doors

Side Three

  1. Lilywhite Lilith
  2. The Waiting Room
  3. Anyway
  4. Here Comes the Supernatural Anaesthetist
  5. The Lamia
  6. Silent Sorrow in Empty Boats

Side Four

  1. The Colony of Slippermen (a. The Arrival b. A Visit to the Doktor / c. Raven)
  2. Ravine
  3. The Light Dies Down on Broadway
  4. Riding the Scree
  5. In the Rapids
  6. It


Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

No of Discs: 2

Label: UMC

Barcode: 602567489856

Release Date: 3 Aug 2018