Skip to product information
1 of 2

Down – NOLA (2016 Reissue Double-LP on 180g Vinyl)

Regular price £29.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £29.99 GBP
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Write a review
| Ask a question

Down formed in 1991 with vocalist Phil Anselmo of Pantera, drummer Jimmy Bower of Eyehategod, guitarists Pepper Keenan of Corrosion of Conformity and Kirk Windstein of Crowbar and bassist Todd Strange, also of Crowbar. All of the band members were longtime friends, and shared interest in bands such as Black Sabbath, Trouble, and Saint Vitus, which would significantly influence the music they made. The band made a three-track demo for underground trading. In an effort to build a fan base, Anselmo and Keenan would ask heavy metal fans if they had ever ‘heard of this band, Down’ and hand them copies of the tape without telling the person that they were in the band. Eventually, the tape was distributed throughout the United States and Down played a small concert in its hometown. A record executive from Elektra Records was attending the show. When he found out who the members of the band were, he signed Down to a recording contract. 

Down released its debut album, NOLA, on September 19, 1995, debuting at No. 55 on the Billboard 200. AllMusic reviewer David Reamer gave the album a nearly perfect 4.5 out of 5 stars. Reamer stated that ‘this is a landmark album that combines the talents of dedicated rock musicians, and should be included in any collection of heavy metal music.’

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Temptation’s Wings
  2. Lifer
  3. Pillars of Eternity

Side Two

  1. Rehab
  2. Hail the Leaf
  3. Underneath Everything

Side Three

  1. Eyes of the South
  2. Jail
  3. Losing All

Side Four

  1. Stone the Crow
  2. Pray for the Locust
  3. Swan Song
  4. Bury Me in Smoke

Producer: Matt Thomas, Down

Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

No of Discs: 2

Label: Rhino

Catalogue No: 0081227954253

Barcode: 0081227954253

Release Date: 6 May 2016