Skip to product information
1 of 3

Depeche Mode – Spirit (2017 Double-LP on 180g Vinyl)

Write a review
| Ask a question

Regular price £34.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £34.99 GBP
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Released on 17 March 2017, Spirit is the fourteenth studio album by Depeche Mode. The album was recorded with new producer James Ford, and was preceded by the single Where’s the Revolution.

Much of the inspiration behind Spirit arose from their distaste of the political climate in both the United States and the United Kingdom. In an interview with Vevo, Dave Gahan stated, ‘We’re really kind of upset about what’s going on in the world.’

Neil Z. Yeung of AllMusic stated, ‘Robust and fearless, Spirit may end up being one of the earliest and best salvos of its political era. Despite dour lyrics to the contrary, Depeche Mode haven’t given up on humanity’. Saby Reyes-Kulkarni of Pitchfork wrote that ‘Spirit is so convincing in spite of its radical shift in tenor. For both the band and audience, that shift couldn’t have come at a better time’. Various critics have cited the album’s conscious lyrics and bleak instrumentals as a positive aspect.

Side four of this double-LP is etched. A digital download card for 320 kbps MP3 versions of the tracks is included.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. Going Backwards
  2. Where's the Revolution
  3. The Worst Crime
  4. Scum

Side Two

  1. You Move
  2. Cover Me
  3. Eternal
  4. Poison Heart

Side Three

  1. So Much Love
  2. Poorman
  3. No More (This Is the Last Time)
  4. Fail


Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

No of Discs: 2

Label: Columbia

Catalogue No: 88985411651

Barcode: 0889854116514

Release Date: 17 Mar 2017