Skip to product information
1 of 2

David Bowie – A House of Fear: Sigma Sound Studios, Philadelphia, 1974 (Limited Edition 12-Inch Album on Yellow Vinyl)

Regular price £29.99
Regular price Sale price £29.99
UK VAT included. Shipping calculated at checkout. UK 48hr shipping £4.99

This release is limited to 300 copies.

Demo work for David Bowie’s ninth studio album, Young Americans, began at Sigma Sound Studios, in Philadelphia, on 8 August 1974. Official work started three days later, on 11 August, upon Tony Visconti’s arrival.

The sessions were productive and moved rapidly, only taking two weeks to complete. It was agreed early on to record as much of the album as possible live, with the full band playing together, including Bowie’s vocals, as a single continuous take for each song.

According to Visconti, the album contains ‘about 85% “live” David Bowie’, with most of the material built out of jam sessions. The album represented a change in Bowie’s approach to production, allowing the session musicians to come up with ideas that Bowie used to write lyrics and melodies.

The sessions produced numerous outtakes – a selection of the most memorable are brought together here.

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Young Americans (Take Two)
  2. Shilling the Rubes (Demo)
  3. Lazer (The Gouster)
  4. After Today (Take One)
  5. Sweet Thing (with Ava Cherry)
  6. Can You Hear Me? (Demo)

Side Two

  1. Never No Turnin’ Back (Early Demo)
  2. Right (Demo)
  3. Who Can I Be Now? (Outtake)
  4. Somebody Up There Likes Me (Outtake)
  5. It’s Gonna Be Me (Outtake with Strings)

Format: Vinyl / 12” Album (Coloured Vinyl)

Label: Dear Boss

Catalogue No: JACK045CV

Barcode: 0637913366666

Release Date: 15 Mar 2024

Shipping Information

We ship all UK orders via Royal Mail Tracked 48 delivery, please allow an additional 3 working days handling time for dispatch.

For more information and worldwide delivery terms please see shipping page.