Skip to product information
1 of 2

Crosby, Stills & Nash – Crosby, Stills & Nash (2010 Reissue on 180g Vinyl)

Regular price £27.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £27.99 GBP
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Write a review
| Ask a question

Released on 29 May 1969, Crosby, Stills & Nash is the first album by Crosby, Stills & Nash. The album peaked at No. 6 on the Billboard Top Pop Albums chart.

Crosby, Stills & Nash was a very strong debut for the band, instantly lifting them to stardom. Along with the Byrds’ Sweetheart of the Rodeo and The Band’s Music from Big Pink of the previous year, it helped initiate a sea change in popular music away from the ruling late-1960s aesthetic of bands playing blues-based rock music on loud guitars. Crosby, Stills & Nash presented a new wrinkle in building upon rock’s roots, using folk, blues, and even jazz without specifically sounding like mere duplication. Not only blending voices, the three meshed their differing strengths, David Crosby for social commentary and atmospheric mood pieces, Stephen Stills for his diverse musical skills and for folding folk and country elements subtly into complex rock structures, and Graham Nash for his radio-friendly pop melodies, to create an amalgam of broad appeal. The album features some of their best known songs: Helplessly Hoping; Crosby’s response to the assassination of Robert F. Kennedy Long Time Gone; Stills’ lament for Judy Collins Suite: Judy Blue Eyes; and Wooden Ships, a collaboration between Crosby and Stills as well as Paul Kantner of Jefferson Airplane.

In a contemporary review, Rolling Stone critic Barry Franklin called Crosby, Stills & Nash ‘an eminently playable record’ and ‘especially satisfying work’, finding the songwriting and vocal harmonies particularly exceptional. In 2003, Rolling Stone ranked Crosby, Stills & Nash No. 259 on their list of ‘The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time’, then was re-ranked No. 262 in 2012. It was voted No. 83 in Colin Larkin’s All Time Top 1000 Albums 3rd Edition (2000).

This edition has been mastered from the original analog master tapes.

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Suite/Judy Blue Eyes
  2. Marrakesh Express
  3. Guinevere
  4. You Don’t Have to Cry
  5. Pre-road Downs

Side Two

  1. Wooden Ships
  2. Lady of the Island
  3. Helplessly Hoping
  4. Long Time Gone
  5. 49 Bye-byes

Producer: Stephen Stills, David Crosby, Graham Nash

Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

Label: Rhino UK

Catalogue No: 0081227986681

Barcode: 0081227986681

Release Date: 26 Apr 2010