Skip to product information
1 of 2

Roxy Music – For Your Pleasure (2017 Reissue Half-Speed Mastered on 180g Vinyl)

Write a review
| Ask a question

Regular price £29.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £29.99 GBP
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

For Your Pleasure is the second album by Roxy Music, released on 23 March 1973. It was their last to feature synthesiser and sound specialist Brian Eno, who would later gain acclaim as a solo artist and producer.

The group was able to spend more studio time on this album than on their debut, combining strong song material by Bryan Ferry with more elaborate production treatments. For example, the song In Every Dream Home a Heartache (Ferry’s sinister ode to a blow-up doll) fades out in its closing section, only to fade in again with all the instruments subjected to a pronounced phasing treatment. The title track fades out in an elaborate blend of tape loop effects. Brian Eno remarked that the eerie The Bogus Man, with lyrics about a sexual stalker, displayed similarities with contemporary material by the krautrock group Can.

Of the more upbeat numbers on the album, Do the Strand and Editions of You were both based around insistent rhythms in the tradition of the band’s first single Virginia Plain. Do the Strand has been called the archetypal Roxy Music anthem, whilst Editions of You was notable for a series of ear-catching solos by Andy Mackay (saxophone), Eno (VCS3), and Phil Manzanera (guitar).

Eno is very present in the final song from the album For Your Pleasure, making it unlike any other song on the album. The song ends with the voice of Judi Dench saying, ‘You don’t ask. You don’t ask why.’ amid tapes of the opening vocals (‘Well, how are you?’) from Chance Meeting from the first Roxy Music album.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. Do the Strand
  2. Beauty Queen
  3. Strictly Confidential
  4. Editions of You
  5. In Every Dream Home a Heartache

Side Two

  1. The Bogus Man
  2. Grey Lagoons
  3. For Your Pleasure


Producer: Chris Thomas

Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

Label: Virgin EMI Records

Barcode: 0602537848751

Release Date: 21 Jul 2017