Skip to product information
1 of 2

Black Sabbath – Vol. 4 (Super Deluxe Edition 5-LP Box Set)

Write a review
| Ask a question

Regular price £129.99
Regular price Sale price £129.99
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout. Free UK shipping on orders over £40.

This super deluxe vinyl box set is the ultimate celebration of Black Sabbath’s fourth studio album Vol. 4.


  • Original album newly remastered
  • 2 LPs of unreleased outtakes mixed by Steven Wilson
  • Live in the UK 1973 double-LP
  • 40-page book with photos, artwork and liner notes
  • Colour poster


Black Sabbath unleashed the group’s fourth album in two years in 1972 with Vol. 4. Stacked with classic tracks like Supernaut, Changes, and Snowblind, the record harnessed the group’s surging popularity to reach the Top 10 on the Albums Chart in the UK and the Top 20 on the Billboard 200 in the US, on its path to being certified platinum by the RIAA.

Here, Vol. 4 is revisted as a super deluxe 5-LP box set including a newly remastered version of the original album along with a trove of unreleased studio and live recordings. Also included is a 40-page book featuring liner notes with quotes from the era from all four band members, rare photos, and a poster with previously unpublished early artwork of the album using the working title Snowblind.

Bolstered by a fresh remastering, Vol. 4’s ambitious arrangements and complex grooves have never sounded more inspired and menacing. Originally released in September 1972, the album marked two major changes for the members of Sabbath: Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, and Bill Ward. While their previous albums – Black Sabbath, Paranoid, and Master of Reality – were produced by Rodger Bain and recorded in England, they instead chose to produce Vol. 4 themselves and record it at the Record Plant in Los Angeles.

The bonus material included in this incredible box set begins with six previously unreleased studio outtakes from the original sessions for the album. Each one has been newly mixed by Steven Wilson using the analog multi-tracks. Highlights include outtakes for Supernaut and Changes, as well an instrumental version of Under the Sun. The set also features 11 additional studio recordings (also newly mixed by Wilson from the analog multi-tracks) that spotlight alternative takes, false starts and snippets of studio dialogue. These tracks transport listeners into the studio with the band and offer some insight into the making of the album. Along with several alternative takes for Wheels of Confusion, these recordings also include outtakes for The Straightener and Snowblind.

The collection concludes with a searing collection of live performances that re-create a typical setlist from Black Sabbath’s tour for Vol. 4. Recorded in March 1973 at various stops along the band’s UK tour. The recordings were originally slated for a live album that was ultimately shelved. Although some of these performances have been previously available in various states, the release marks the first time that a full 1973 live Sabbath show has been recreated. The live audio has been newly mixed by Richard Digby Smith using the original 16-track analog tapes to achieve a level of fidelity not heard on any previous incarnations.


Track Listing

LP 1 – Original Album (2021 Remaster)

Side One

  1. Wheels of Confusion / The Straightener
  2. Tomorrow’s Dream
  3. Changes
  4. FX
  5. Supernaut

Side Two

  1. Snowblind
  2. Cornucopia
  3. Laguna Sunrise
  4. St. Vitus Dance
  5. Under the Sun / Every Day Comes and Goes


LP 2 – Outtakes, New Mixes, Alternative Takes, False Starts & Studio Dialogue

Side One

  1. Wheels of Confusion / The Straightener
  2. Changes
  3. Supernaut
  4. Snowblind

Side Two

  1. Laguna Sunrise
  2. Under the Sun (Instrumental)
  3. Wheels of Confusion (False Start with Studio Dialogue)
  4. Wheels of Confusion (Alternative Take 1)
  5. Wheels of Confusion (Alternative Take 2)
  6. Wheels of Confusion (Alternative Take 3)

LP 3 – Alternative Takes, False Starts & Studio Dialogue Continued

Side One

  1. Wheels of Confusion (Alternative Take 4)
  2. The Straightener (Outtake)
  3. Snowblind (Alternative Take 1 - Incomplete)
  4. Supernaut (Outtake)

Side Two

  1. Supernaut (Alternative Takes with False Starts)
  2. Under the Sun (False Start with Studio Dialogue)
  3. Under the Sun (Alternative Take with Guide Vocal)

LP 4 – Live in the UK 1973

Side One

  1. Tomorrow’s Dream
  2. Sweet Leaf
  3. War Pigs

Side Two

  1. Snowblind
  2. Killing Yourself to Live
  3. Cornucopia

Side Three

  1. Wicked World (Includes Excerpts of:) (19:53)
i. Guitar Solo
ii. Orchid
iii. Into the Void
iv. Sometimes I’m Happy

Side Four

  1. Supernaut / Drum Solo
  2. Wicked World (Reprise)
  3. Embryo
  4. Children of the Grave
  5. Paranoid


Format: Vinyl / 12” Album Box Set

No of Discs: 5

Label: BMG Rights Management

Barcode: 4050538644449

Release Date: 12 Feb 2021