Skip to product information
1 of 2

The Beach Boys – Pet Sounds (50th Anniversary Edition Stereo Mix on 180g Vinyl with Digital Download)

Write a review
| Ask a question

Regular price £27.99
Regular price Sale price £27.99
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout. Free UK shipping on orders over £40.

This 50th anniversary edition of the Beach Boys’ iconic Pet Sounds features a stereo mix of the album pressed on heavyweight 180g vinyl. A download voucher is also included.

Released on 16 May 1966, Pet Sounds is the eleventh studio album by the Beach Boys. It was initially met with a lukewarm critical and commercial response in the United States, peaking at No. 10 on the Billboard Top LPs chart. In the United Kingdom, the album was lauded by critics and reached No. 2 on the Record Retailer chart, remaining in the top ten for six months. Promoted there as ‘the most progressive pop album ever’, Pet Sounds garnered recognition for its ambitious production, sophisticated music, and emotional lyrical content. It is considered to be among the greatest and most influential albums in music history.

The album was produced, arranged, and almost entirely composed by Brian Wilson with guest lyricist Tony Asher. It was recorded largely between January and April 1966, a year after Wilson quit touring with his bandmates. His goal was to create ‘the greatest rock album ever made’ – a cohesive work with no filler tracks. It is sometimes considered a Wilson solo album that builds upon the advancements of The Beach Boys Today! (1965). Lead single Caroline, No was issued as his official solo debut. It was followed by two singles credited to the group: Sloop John B and Wouldn’t It Be Nice (backed with God Only Knows).

Pet Sounds revolutionised the field of music production and the role of producers within the music industry, introduced novel approaches to orchestration, chord voicings, and structural harmonies, and furthered the cultural legitimisation of popular music, a greater public appreciation for albums, the use of synthesisers, the recording studio as an instrument, and the development of psychedelic music and progressive/art rock. It has topped several critics’ and musicians’ polls for the best album of all time, including those published by NME, Mojo, Uncut, and The Times.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. Wouldn't It Be Nice
  2. You Still Believe in Me
  3. That's Not Me
  4. Don't Talk (Put Your Head on My Shoulder)
  5. I'm Waiting for the Day
  6. Let's Go Away for Awhile
  7. Sloop John B

Side Two

  1. God Only Knows
  2. I Know There's An Answer
  3. Here Today
  4. I Just Wasn't Made for These Times
  5. Pet Sounds
  6. Caroline, No


Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

Label: UMG

Catalogue No: 4782229

Barcode: 0602547822291

Release Date: 10 Jun 2016